Specialist and Professional Services (SPS) 9

If you’ve found your way to this page, it means that you’re interested in a career in the Specialist and Professional Services (SPS) job family. The level within this family that you’re at or working towards is SPS 9. There is a diverse range of roles in the SPS job family such as: 
  • Psychologists
  • Speech Pathologists
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Early Childhood Teachers
  • Registered Nurses
  • Social Workers
  • Physiotherapists
  • Behavioural Support Practitioners
These roles require you to use professional skills, knowledge and experience to assist and support people to achieve their goals and aspirations, to lead a healthy and fulfilling life and, to live in the community as they choose. 
As an SPS 9, you’ll be an experienced professional with in-depth knowledge of several disability support areas; you’ll utilise complex person-centred tools and processes; undertake standard professional tasks with thorough and advanced competence; and due to your proficiency you may guide less experienced professional staff. 
Qualifications and experience
There are job roles in the SPS job family where formal qualifications and practice registration are a pre-requisite. Employers will specify qualification or equivalent experience requirements for particular roles. To be considered for an SPS 9 role, you will be a fully proficient professional and you must have a relevant tertiary qualification and/or equivalent. However, as there is always more to learn, you’ll also be expected to undertake regular professional development to increase your knowledge and skill set.
SPS 9 roles are rewarding and challenging. No two days are the same and you get to use your extensive range of skills and experience to make a tangible difference to the lives of people with disability. 

Back to Career planner