Specialist and Professional Services (SPS) 8

If you’ve found your way to this page, it means that you’re interested in a career in the Specialist and Professional Services (SPS) job family. The level within this family that you’re at or working towards is SPS 8. There is a diverse range of roles in the SPS job family such as: 
  • Psychologists
  • Speech Pathologists
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Early Childhood Teachers
  • Registered Nurses
  • Social Workers
  • Physiotherapists
  • Behavioural Support Practitioners
These roles require you to use professional skills, knowledge and experience to assist and support people to achieve their goals and aspirations, to lead a healthy and fulfilling life and, to live in the community as they choose.  You will also be at the forefront of facilitating service offerings for people with disability, as well as providing recommendations for and implementing individual plans.  As a part of this it is imperative that you value, understand, and apply a sound working knowledge of person-centred approaches.  
As a SPS 8, you’ll be undertaking routine non-complex work in areas such as assessments, interventions, behavioural support and counselling.  You also need to have a professional understanding of specific areas pertaining to your individual discipline.  Although you’ll largely work independently, you also need to be able to work effectively with other professionals in order to provide holistic supports for that meet the needs of the individual. 
Qualifications and experience
There are job roles in the SPS job family where formal qualifications and practice registration are a pre-requisite. SPS 8 roles require a relevant formal tertiary qualification and/or equivalent experience, as well appropriate practice registration within the respective discipline field. 
As a SPS 8, you will need to be able to demonstrate specific skills, knowledge and capabilities obtained through your qualifications and experience in your given discipline. Employers will specify qualification or equivalent experience requirements for particular roles. As there is always more to learn, you’ll also be expected to undertake regular professional development to increase your knowledge and skill set.
SPS 8 roles are rewarding and challenging. No two days are the same and you get to use your extensive range of skills and experience to make a tangible difference to the lives of people with disability.



Back to Career planner