Direct Service Delivery (DSD) 4

DSD 4 roles are generally frontline positions, which means you are working directly with people with disability and making a real difference to a person’s life by supporting them to achieve their individual goals and aspirations, and to live in the community as they choose. Role titles within DSD 4 include:
  • Family Support Worker
  • Program Assistant
  • Social Educator
  • Disability Support Worker
  • Residential Support Worker
  • Therapy Assistant
DSD 4s are skilled team members and provide support and assistance to people with disability where their individual requirements or environment is complex. You will draw on your experience to tailor the support provided to meet a person’s goals and needs. As a DSD 4, you’ll contribute to the effective use of person-centred approaches, tools and work processes across the team. You’ll also need to fully understand the standard approaches and procedures involved in the work you do, and provide coaching and feedback to less experienced staff.
Qualifications and experience
Employers will specify qualification or equivalent experience requirements for particular roles at this level. However, the range of qualifications or training and experience that align with a DSD 4 are equivalent to a Vocational and Educational Training Certificate IV.  
But you don’t worry if you don’t have formal qualifications or training in disability, as you’ll most certainly have other skills, experience, capabilities and qualifications that are extremely useful and will help contribute to having a successful and enjoyable career in the disability sector. Having the right attitude and a desire to make a difference are two other important qualities that you’ll need as a DSD 4.

Back to Career planner